The “Nutrition Champions” from the Municipality of Roxas (Oriental Mindoro) and City of Calapan (Oriental Mindoro) received their National Nutrition Awards, trophies and prizes during the 2019 National Nutrition Awarding Ceremony at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) last August 30, 2019.

Hon. Councilor Ronnel Sescar, Roxas Municipal Administrator and Dr. Leonor Nunez-Daite, Roxas Municipal Health Officer/Municipal Nutrition Action Officer, received their second year Consistent Regional Outstanding Winner in Nutrition (CROWN) award. It is a step-closer to the Nutrition Honor Award, the highest award in nutrition given to LGUs in the country.

The CROWN award was given to the City of Calapan (Oriental Mindoro) and was received by Hon. Mayor Arnan Panaligan, Hon. Council Mylene de Jesus, and Ms. Zipora Manes, City of Calapan Nutrition Action Officer.

The awards were conferred by Dr. Azucena M. Dayanghirang, the newly appointed Executive Director of National Nutrition Council; Hon. Senator Cynthia Villar; Hon. Senator Aquilino Pimentel ; Dr. Roger Tong-An , DOH Undersecretary; and Mr. Karlo Alexei B. Nograles.

Dr. Mario S. Baquilod, CHD MIMAROPA Regional Director; Dr. Matthew Medrano, CHD MIMAROPA Family Health Cluster Head; Ms. Perla Supnet, CHD MIMAROPA Nutritionist-Dietitian; and OIC-Regional Nutrition Program Coordinator of NNC MIMAROPA, Ms. Carina Santiago, also graced the event.

The National Nutrition Awarding Ceremony is an annual event of the National Nutrition Council (NNC) to give recognition to the Local Government Units (LGUs) who have made an outstanding performance in nutrition program management and implementation and services within the community. -AVETPatriarca