2019 RNAC

Alabang, Muntinlupa - The MiMaRoPa Regional Nutrition Awarding Ceremony was held at Acacia Hotel in Alabang, Muntinlupa City last 30 September 2019. It was attended by nutrition champions and nutrition stakeholders in the region. The National Nutrition Council-MiMaRoPa and the Regional Nutrition Committee awarded the Local Government Units with outstanding and successful implementation of nutrition programs. Aside from that, nutrition workers were also given due recognition for their dedication in improving the nutrition situation of their communities.

Brgy. Suqui of Calapan City was hailed as the 2018 Regional Outstanding Barangay Nutrition Committee. They were followed by Brgy. Puting Buhangin in Boac, Marinduque and Brgy. Panacan, Narra Palawan for the 2nd and 3rd place, respectively. Brgy. Bancao-Bancao, Puerto Princesa City, Brgy. Tabugon, Sta. Fe, Romblon and Brgy. Paclasan, Roxas, Oriental Mindoro were among the finalists for the 2018 Search for ROBNC.

Outstanding municipalities for each province of MiMaRoPa were also recognized during the awarding ceremony. Municipalities of Naujan in Oriental Mindoro, San Jose in Occidental Mindoro, Mogpog in Marinduque, Odiongan in Romblon and San Vicente in Palawan were the municipalities that excelled in nutrition program implementation in their respective provinces.

In lieu of the Green Banner Award, Certificates of Quality Nutrition Program (QNP) were awarded to Marinduque Province, Calapan City and Municipalities of Mogpog, Marinduque and Odiongan, Romblon. QNP is given to LGUs whose nutrition program implementation is on track as proven by their overall accomplishments and compliance to 2018 nutrition standards.


Moreover, special citations were given during the awarding ceremony. Most Innovative Province in the Region was awarded to Occidental Mindoro because of its innovative strategies in targeting specific nutrition problems while the Most Improved Province was given to Palawan because of its intensified efforts to reach the far-flung areas to continually decrease its malnutrition prevalence rate. On the other hand, Romblon Province and Puerto Princesa City were the Most Promising Province and City in the region, respectively, for showing future success in nutrition.

Special citations were also presented to the City of Calapan and Municipality of Roxas, Oriental Mindoro for bringing pride and honor to the region for being one of the national awardees of CROWN Award and 2nd Year CROWN Maintenance Award, respectively.

The region’s hardworking nutrition advocates were duly recognized for their continuous and proactive implementation and coordination of nutrition programs in their own areas.

The Regional Most Outstanding Provincial/City Nutrition Action Officer was Ms. Zipora Manes of Calapan City. Ms. Maria Concepcion Solidum of Puerto Princesa City was the second placer followed by tied third placers, Ms. Robie C. Apiag of Marinduque and Ms. Norine Dacula of Oriental Mindoro. Mr. Oscar Vicente Ylagan Jr. (†), Ms. Rachel Paladan and Dr. Arceli Rebong were the finalists for this award.

For the Most Outstanding District/City Nutrition Program Coordinator, Ms. Ma. Imee Celestino of Calapan City and Mr. Rafaelito Delos Santos of Puerto Princesa City were tied on the top place. Ms. Elinor Lustania of Marinduque garnered the second place while Ms. Mila Veneranda of Palawan garnered the 3rd place. Ms. Merly Bayang was the lone finalist for the regional outstanding D/CNPCs.

Ms. Maricel B. Manibo of Brgy. Sta. Isabel, Calapan City was hailed as the 2018 Regional Outstanding Barangay Nutrition Scholar and received Php 20,000.00 cash award. In her speech, she expressed gratitude to her mentors, CNPC Celestino and CNAO Manes and to the BNC members. According to her, it was hard to juggle the responsibilities of a BNS and a single parent but she still managed to accomplish her duties successfully through the guidance of her mentors and the support from the BNC members. Ms. Rosie B. Asuela of Brgy. Panacan, Narra, Palawan and Ms. Rosenda A. Sevilla of Brgy. Nangka, Torrijos, Marinduque were the 2nd and 3rd Placers of this award, respectively. Mr. Arsenio Niegas of Sta. Lourdes, Puerto Princesa City, Ms. Regina Caunca of Sta. Fe, Romblon, Ms. Rebecca Ruga of Paclasan, Roxas, Oriental Mindoro and Ms. Ofelia Collado of San Francisco, Sablayan, Occidental Mindoro were included in the finalist for the search for ROBNS.

These awards were presented not only to recognize their best efforts but also to encourage and motivate them to continue their nutrition advocacies and strengthen their nutrition program implementation to collectively improve the nutrition situation of MiMaRoPa Region.

The new Monitoring and Evaluation of Local Level Plan Implementation (MELLPI) Pro Tool was used in the evaluation. 2019 is the transition year from the old MELLPI tool to MELLPI Pro. - BLVMEstrella