mimaropa rnet meeting 03052020Quezon City – NNC MIMAROPA held its 1st Joint Meeting of the Regional Nutrition Evaluation Team (RNET), Regional Technical Working Group (RTWG) in Nutrition and ECCD – F1K Technical Working Group (TWG) last 5 March 2020 at NNC-Central Office Conference Room, Taguig City. The meeting was presided by NPC and OIC-MiMaRoPa Ma. Eileen B. Blanco and attended by representatives from different Regional Line Agencies (RLAs) – Department of Health (DOH), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), Department of Agriculture (DA), National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR), Department of the Interior and Local Government  (DILG), National Commission on Indigenous Peoples (NCIP), Philippine Information Agency (PIA), Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Population Commission and Department of education (DepEd).

One of the objectives of the meeting is to orient members of the RNET  on the features and mechanics in the conduct of the Monitoring and Evaluation of Local Level Plan Implementation Protocol (MELLPI Pro) Tool as well as the content of the MELLPI Pro forms to be used for both local government units and nutrition workers.

MELLPI Pro is a part of the updated monitoring and evaluation framework and system developed for the nutrition sector which covers the assessment of nationwide initiatives along policy legislation, nutrition service delivery and capacity-building. The system also measures the quantity and quality of the performance of nutrition workers. It emphasizes assessment of LGUs’ progress toward compliance to quality standards, evidence-based validation and mentoring through joint discussion for learning and action discussion with the LGU or nutrition workers assessed.

Proposed schedule of MELLPI Pro was presented to the team where some of the member agencies already signified areas they intent to join. Subsequently, the RNET elected Mr. Eddielito Sumangil of National Commission on Indigenous People Region IV and Ms. Catalina Silang of Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources – MIMAROPA as Chair and Co-chair, respectively. (BLVMEstrella)