rnacTACLOBAN CITY -- The municipality of Caibiran in the island province of Biliran bagged the highest regional citation in nutrition, reaping the Green Banner Award as Regional Outstanding Municipality in tandem for its being Provincial Outstanding Municipality in Biliran Province. Likewise the municipality of Bobon won the distinction as Provincial Outstanding Municipality in Northern Samar and the Municipality of Tarangnan as Provincial Outstanding Municipality in Samar province.These were the top local government units (LGUs) in Eastern Visayas recognized  for their outstanding performance in implementation of nutrition action plan during the previous year, bestowed honours in a Regional Nutrition Awarding Ceremony held at Patio Victoria on November 4, 2016, this city.
Catalino P. Dotollo Jr., Regional Nutrition Program Coordinator of National Nutrition Council (NNC) Region 8, said the Green Banner Award is the highest honour given to an LGU (municipality, city or province) for its exemplary implementation and management of nutrition programs. The award is given to the first ranking municipality/city or province adjudged by the interagency Regional Nutrition  Evaluation Team (RNET)--in recognition of their efficient implementation of the Philippine Plan of Action for Nutrition, he added.

Awarded with 'Certificate of Appreciation' for their participation in the Monitoring and Evaluation of Local Level Plan Implementation (MELLPI) were the LGUs of the towns of Almeria, Naval, Kawayan, Biliran, Cabucgayan, Culaba all in Biliran; Bato, Hindang, Hilongos, Inopacan, and Matalom in Leyte; Giporlos, Balangkayan, and San Julian in Eastern Samar; Liloan, Malitbog, San Francisco, Tomas Oppus, Bontoc, Libagon, Padre Burgos and Sogod in Southern Leyte; and the cities of Baybay, Ormoc, Calbayog and Tacloban.
Cited 'Outstanding Barangays' were the villages of Sto. NiƱo, Maasin City and Cabungaan in Tarangnan, Samar; and Outstanding Barangay Nutrition Scholars (BNSs) with cash components were Jennifer U. Dejesica - Regional Outstanding BNS, Lanie B. Ancheta - Provincial Outstanding BNS in the Province of Samar, and Luisa B. Pigar - Provincial Outstanding BNS in the Province of Northern Samar.
Special Citations were also conferred for: Best Pabasa sa Nutrition Implementer -Maasin City; LGU with Innovative Programs - Province of Leyte; LGU with Sustained Nutrition Program Implementation - Biliran Province, Northern Samar Province, Limasawa (Southern Leyte), Maasin City and Ormoc City; and for LGUs with Efficient Nutrition Program Implementation - Almeria and Kawayan, both in Biliran.
LGUs with Infant and Young Child Feeding (IYCF) Initiatives - Brgy. Tejero in Hilongos, Leyte; Most Improved Barangay in Nutrition Program Implementation - Central Poblacion in Hilongos and Katipunan in Hindang both in Leyte, and Magsaysay in Bobon, Northern Samar.
Given the spotlight as 'Most Active Nutrition Organization' was the Eastern Visayas Association of Barangay Nutrition Scholars Inc. (EVA-BNS) and the Harmonized Initiatives of Media for the Spread of Good Nutrition in Region 8 (HIMSoG-8)
The Most Active Non-Government Organizations were: ADRA Philippines, World Vision, and Engender Health; and finally the '2016 Bayani ng Kalusugan Award' went to former mayor and now Vice Mayor Melchor P. Petracorta of the island town Limasawa, Southern Leyte. (Jack C. Gadaingan)